Sharks in the Hunt for National Title

  • Date Published: 05/25/2014
    This Sunday, May 25, Coach of the Year Danny Price leads a star-studded team in his first pursuit of a national title as skipper of the Miami Dade College Sharks. The team begins their quest for the championship against No. 5 Spartanburg Methodist College at 9:30 p.m. in Grand Junction, Colo. Catch the game via livestream.

    The Sharks fought through early growing pains this season to finish with a 17-6 Southern Conference record (35-15 overall), earning a shot at their first state title since 2001. In the Lakeland, Fla., tourney last week, they battled back from 1-1 start to win three straight games and pave the way to a national title bid. The team last won the national title in 1981.

    Along the way, they’ve piled up more than just victories. The Sharks had seven players make the Southern Conference First and Second teams. First team included freshman Darren Seferina, sophomore Kyle Carter and freshman Bryan Colon. The second team included freshman Jonathan Bermudez, sophomore Jose Gomez and freshman David Palenzuela. Making the FCSAA First Team All-State was Darren Seferina. At the conclusion of the tournament some of the Sharks also made the All-Tournament team: sophomores Cody Fulton, Mandy Alvarez, Jonathan Bermudez, Mario Amaral, Marcos Barrios; and freshman Darren Seferina. Bermudez also received the Bob Perky Pitcher of the tournament award and Mandy Alvarez received the Bob Zelinski Most Valuable Player of the Tournament award.