April 2012, Volume 16, Number 2

Making Their Mark

Commitment to Community Honored

Community Commitment Honored

The Greater Miami Chamber of Commerce recently paid tribute to Miami Dade College President Dr. Eduardo J. Padrón as the recipient of its esteemed Sand In My Shoes Award, presented annually to a leader who has made a significant contribution to the South Florida community. The award recognizes Padrón’s tremendous dedication to the community and his efforts to build Miami Dade College into a successful institution of higher education, which has had a widespread and long-lasting positive effect on the region.

Other Honors

Padrón Receives Prestigious National Service Award

The accomplishments of Miami Dade College were thrust into the national spotlight again with the news that College President Dr. Eduardo J. Padrón was selected as an honored recipient of the Citizen Service Award from Voices for National Service.

A leading advocate for academic learning strengthened by service, Padrón is the first college president in the nation to receive this prestigious recognition, given annually to individuals who have invested in the civic health of our nation through support of national service. He was honored along with music superstar Jon Bon Jovi at an awards reception in Washington, D.C., and he joins the distinguished ranks of notable leaders who have formerly received this award, including Caroline Kennedy and Jean Case of The Case Foundation.

Higher Education Honor Presented to MDC President

The recent weeks of major accolades and honors for Miami Dade College’s President Padrón continue with the nationally respected higher education leader receiving the coveted 2012 TIAA-CREF ACE Theodore M. Hesburgh Award for Leadership Excellence.

This coveted award is named in honor of the Rev. Theodore M. Hesburgh, president emeritus of the University of Notre Dame and former member of the TIAA-CREF Board of Overseers. A nationally renowned educator and world humanitarian, he is considered one of the most influential figures in higher education in recent history.

The award recognizes leadership and commitment to higher education and contributions to the greater good. It is presented to a current college or university president or chancellor who embodies the spirit of Father Hesburgh, his commitment and contributions to higher education and society.

Padrón Named Ascend Fellow

The Aspen Institute has named President Padrón to the inaugural class of its Ascend Fellowship program, one of a select group of 20 leaders from across the country who are pioneering two-generation approaches to move families beyond poverty. 

“Ascend Fellows are exceptional leaders from government, philanthropy, research, nonprofits, the media and private sector,” said Anne Mosle, Ascend Executive Director. “Each one will pursue cutting-edge work that illustrates two-generation strategies in their various fields.” 

Ascend, launched in 2011, is a hub for breakthrough ideas and proven strategies that move parents and children toward economic security together. Fellows will receive scholarships to support participation and execute action plans.

MDC President to Co-Chair Century Foundation Commission

The Century Foundation has tapped President Padrón to co-chair a special task force to consider strategies to strengthen colleges.

The Task Force on Preventing Community Colleges from Becoming Separate and Unequal will address the growing racial and socioeconomic divide between two- and four-year institutions.

Dr. Padrón’s co-chair is Anthony Marx, president of the New York Public Library and former president of Amherst College. The task force is comprised of scholars of higher education and representatives of the business, philanthropic and civil rights communities.

American Academy Picks Padrón

President Padrón is in good company as he begins his appointment on the Commission of the Humanities & Social Sciences, which recommends steps government, academia, business and philanthropy can take to support and strengthen these areas.

The Commission was created by the American Academy of Arts and Sciences at the request of Congress. Other noted members include Dr. Richard H. Brodhead, president of Duke University; John W. Rowe, chairman and CEO of Exelon Corp.; Dr. Robert J. Birgeneau, chancellor of the University of California, Berkeley; David Brooks, New York Times journalist; Dr. James Cuno, president and CEO of the J. Paul Getty Trust; Dr. Drew Gilpin Faust, Harvard University president; Dr. Amy Gutmann, president of the University of Pennsylvania; Dr. John L. Hennessy, president of Stanford University; Rev. John I. Jenkins, University of Notre Dame president; director George Lucas; and cellist Yo-Yo Ma; among many others.



More Making Their Mark Articles

Miami Dade College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award associate and baccalaureate degrees.
Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 or call 404-679-4500 for questions about the accreditation of Miami Dade College.
Miami Dade College is an equal access/equal opportunity institution which does not discriminate on the basis of sex, race, color, marital status, age, religion, national origin,
disability, veteran’s status, ethnicity, pregnancy, sexual orientation or genetic information. Additional information may be obtained by contacting the
Office of Equal Opportunity Programs/ADA Coordinator/Title IX Coordinator, at 305.237.2577.