June 2013, Volume 17, Number 2


Nursing Faculty in a League of Their Own

The acclaimed Benjamín León School of Nursing at MDC produces more nursing graduates than any other college in the country, so it’s no surprise that the School is led by highly skilled faculty who are always striving to raise MDC’s bar of excellence. The College’s impressive nursing faculty are garnering recognition around the state, with five professors honored with an award for making a difference in their field.

Powerful Impact

The recipients are among a top-tier faculty that offers students real-world experience in a variety of settings. The curriculum they teach helps build on students’ natural compassion with the competency, critical-thinking skills and cultural awareness needed to help future nurses be exemplary health care providers.
Those being honored include:

  • Dr. Yamina Alvarez: With her 35 years of experience in the field and teaching, Alvarez is also a recipient of the Florida Nursing Association’s South Region 2012 Nurse Educator Award and the Joan K. Stout R.N. Endowed Teaching Chair in Nursing at Miami Dade College.
  • Dr. Marie O. Etienne: In addition to being named Haitian Woman of the Year by the National Center of the Haitian Apostolate, she was appointed to serve on the National Nursing Committee of the American Red Cross. Etienne was also recognized by the Florida Nursing Association with the South Region 2012 Advanced Practice Nursing Award.
  • Constance Miller: In her 20-plus years at MDC, she has played a vital role in the College’s nursing and community outreach programs. Miller was honored with the Community Engagement Educator Award from Florida Campus Compact in 2010 and the Florida Nursing Association’s South Region Community Action Award in 2012.
  • Dr. Carol Petrozella: Recognized for her engaging teaching style and ability to enhance learning, Petrozella was also the Florida Nursing Association’s 2011 Nurse of the Year.
  • Dr. Lenora Yates: A senior faculty member at MDC's Medical Campus, Yates recently was appointed president of the Miami Chapter of Black Nurses Association Inc. She also chairs MDC’s Generic Nursing Program.

Striving for Excellence

“The faculty members recognized as top in the state truly deserve the honor,” said Dr. Amy Pettigrew, dean of MDC’s Benjamín León School of Nursing. “MDC is very fortunate to have these faculty members who have achieved their dreams and been recognized for excellence. 

“They all work wonders every day. Our students overcome many obstacles to become nurses, and our faculty members are there to help them every step of the way.”

In addition to these accolades, more than two dozen faculty members in the School of Nursing have earned or are pursuing doctoral degrees. With the addition of six recent graduates, 19 now have their Doctor of Nursing Practice, Doctor of Education or Ph.D., and another 11 are currently enrolled in doctoral programs.


More Academics Articles

Miami Dade College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award associate and baccalaureate degrees.
Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 or call 404-679-4500 for questions about the accreditation of Miami Dade College.
Miami Dade College is an equal access/equal opportunity institution which does not discriminate on the basis of sex, race, color, marital status, age, religion, national origin,
disability, veteran’s status, ethnicity, pregnancy, sexual orientation or genetic information. Additional information may be obtained by contacting the
Office of Equal Opportunity Programs/ADA Coordinator/Title IX Coordinator, at 305.237.2577.