February 2016, Volume 20, Number 1


A Coke and a Smile

Artist impression of graduation cap with diploma and cash
MDC students recently were recognized as Coca-Cola leaders of promise scholars.

Nine students representing InterAmerican, North and Wolfson campuses recently were selected to receive a $1,000 scholarship from Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society as the 2015 Coca-Cola Leaders of Promise Scholars. This year, the winners were selected nationwide from more than 1,100 applicants based on outstanding academic achievements and demonstrated leadership potential.

The coveted Coca-Cola Leaders of Promise Scholarship Program provides new Phi Theta Kappa members with financial resources to help defray educational expenses while they are enrolled in associate degree programs. Scholars also are encouraged to assume leadership roles in Society programs.

The MDC 2015 Coca-Cola Leaders of Promise Scholars, listed by campus, are:

  • From InterAmerican Campus – Stephany Cerezo, Valentina D’Empaire, Victoria Lella and Maria Ortiz
  • From North Campus – Janelys Gonzalez, Alexander Lleonart and Julieanne Ramos
  • From Wolfson Campus – Marc Goldberg and Yessica Maltes

More Features Articles

Miami Dade College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award associate and baccalaureate degrees.
Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 or call 404-679-4500 for questions about the accreditation of Miami Dade College.
Miami Dade College is an equal access/equal opportunity institution which does not discriminate on the basis of sex, race, color, marital status, age, religion, national origin,
disability, veteran’s status, ethnicity, pregnancy, sexual orientation or genetic information. Additional information may be obtained by contacting the
Office of Equal Opportunity Programs/ADA Coordinator/Title IX Coordinator, at 305.237.2577.