Miami Dade College Homepage > MDC in the News

Miami Dade College’s North Campus Partners with Single Stop USA to Open a Free Food Pantry for Students and Their Families Dec 3

food-pantry1

Miami, November 22, 2013 - To help provide well-rounded support to Miami Dade College (MDC) students and their immediate families, the college’s North Campus is partnering with Single Stop USA to open a food pantry. The pantry will open its doors on Tuesday, Dec. 3 and continue every Tuesday from 4 – 6 p.m. and Friday from 9 a.m. – 1 pm at the North Campus’ Student Life office, Room 4208 (Building 4, Second Floor). Non-perishable food will be distributed, free of charge, on a first come, first serve basis.

“We are extremely excited to be able to provide our students and their families with this wonderful resource,” said Malou C. Harrison, interim North Campus president. “Our goal is to build a service that will continue to help and support our students become empowered so they can ultimately achieve their educational and career goals.”

The food pantry is part of Single Stop’s “One Stop Shop” program that was designed for students to tap into as many unclaimed government resources as possible, so that they can successfully complete their degrees. By partnering with MDC, Single Stop seeks to harness two of the country's most effective anti-poverty tools: access to America's safety net and a post-secondary education. Single Stop USA partnered with MDC in 2010 with sites at North, Kendall and Wolfson and has served more than 12,500 students and leveraged over $16.5 million in benefits in services to date. 

The Student Life Department has been instrumental in promoting the intellectual, cultural, personal, and social development of students. Members of the MDC community are encouraged to donate nonperishable food items, which can be dropped off at the North Campus’ Student Life Department.

For more information on Student Life, please visit: http://www.mdc.edu/north/studentlife or call 305-237-1250. For more information about Single Stop provides, please visit http://www.mdc.edu/main/singlestop/.

Media-only contacts:
Juan Mendieta, 305-237-7611, jmendiet@mdc.edu, MDC communications director
Tere Estorino Florin, 305-237-3949, testorin@mdc.edu, MDC media relations director
Kai Hill, 305-237-3359, khill1@mdc.edu, media specialist
Sue Arrowsmith, 305-237-3710, sue.arrowsmith@mdc.edu, media specialist
Roxana Romero, 305-237-3366, rromero3@mdc.edu, media specialist
Alejandro Rios, 305-237-7482, arios1@mdc.edu




Miami Dade College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award associate and baccalaureate degrees.
Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 or call 404-679-4500 for questions about the accreditation of Miami Dade College.
Miami Dade College is an equal access/equal opportunity institution and does not discriminate on the basis of gender, race, color, marital status, age, religion, national origin,
disability, veteran’s status, sexual orientation, or genetic information. Contact the Office of Equal Opportunity Programs/ADA Coordinator, at 305.237.2577 for information.