Miami Dade College Homepage > MDC in the News

Miami Dade College’s North Campus to Host Ecotourism and Sustainable Development Symposium Mar. 28

ecotourism1

Miami, March 21, 2014 - Miami Dade College’s (MDC) North Campus will host its first symposium on “Ecotourism and Sustainable Development in South Florida” on Friday, March 28. The program will explore how South Florida, as a major tourism hub, can better engage in and gain from healthy ecotourism. City of Miami Mayor Tomas Regalado will be among the community leaders and industry experts who will share their knowledge and work in this field. Martha Honey, a Washington D.C.-based ecotourism expert and co-founder and co-director of The Center for Responsible Travel (CREST), will deliver the keynote address. The event is free and open to the public.

Organized by MDC’s Earth Ethics Institute and the Florida-Caribbean Consortium for Agriculture Education & Hispanic Workforce Development (FCCAgE), the symposium’s activities will include a knowledge‐exchange workshop with industry leaders; formal and informal networking opportunities; pitch presentations of innovative ideas; library resource management for educators; and a sustainable practice and natural resources expo of student and faculty work. Representatives from Oleta River State Park, EcoAdventures, Simpson Park and the Miami Science Museum will also participate in the program. 

“Ecotourism is important to life; as we tour and visit places on vacation, it is important that we remember to take care of the earth as well,” said MDC biology professor Dr. Jorge Obeso.

MDC professors Chris Migliaccio and Maria Casado will conclude the symposium with a hands-on activity that explores strategies on evaluating and exploring a business approach to the ecotourism model.

Ecotourism and Sustainable Development in South Florida Symposium

  • WHEN: Friday, Mar. 28, 10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
  • WHERE: MDC North Campus, Conference Center, Room 3249 (Hall A) 11380 NW 27 Ave.

For more information, contact MDC’s Earth Ethics Institute program coordinator Paola Plevak at pplevak@mdc.edu or MDC biology professor Jorge Obeso at jobeso@mdc.edu.

Media-only contacts:
Juan Mendieta, 305-237-7611, jmendiet@mdc.edu, MDC communications director
Tere Estorino Florin, 305-237-3949, testorin@mdc.edu, MDC media relations director
Kai Hill, 305-237-3359, khill1@mdc.edu, media specialist
Sue Arrowsmith, 305-237-3710, sue.arrowsmith@mdc.edu, media specialist
Roxana Romero, 305-237-3366, rromero3@mdc.edu, media specialist
Alejandro Rios, 305-237-7482, arios1@mdc.edu




Miami Dade College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award associate and baccalaureate degrees.
Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 or call 404-679-4500 for questions about the accreditation of Miami Dade College.
Miami Dade College is an equal access/equal opportunity institution and does not discriminate on the basis of gender, race, color, marital status, age, religion, national origin,
disability, veteran’s status, sexual orientation, or genetic information. Contact the Office of Equal Opportunity Programs/ADA Coordinator, at 305.237.2577 for information.