Miami Dade College Homepage > MDC in the News

MDC Student Newspapers Win Awards for Excellence in Journalism

Falcon Times Staff

Falcon Times staff at the FCCPA convention: (Bottom) Anahi Cortada and Laura C. Morel. (Top) Akeem Mayers, Daniel Masip and adviser, Manolo Barco.

Miami, October 23, 2008 - Miami Dade College’s student newspapers – The Falcon Times (North Campus), Metropolis (Wolfson Campus) and the Catalyst (Kendall Campus) – won a total of 20 awards at this year’s Florida Community College Press Association (FCCPA) convention and awards ceremony. A group of student writers, editors and graphic artists from each campus attended the event held recently in Sarasota.  

"I'm very happy that we were able to win several awards,” said Laura C. Morel, editor of The Falcon Times. “It shows that we are improving and trying to make The Falcon Times the best it can be. Winning the awards has definitely shown our staff that we need to continue to be dedicated so that we will keep moving forward."

The Falcon Times won seven awards, including a first place honor for Best News Story. The Catalyst also nabbed seven awards, with a first place spot for Best Sports Column. Metropolis came home with six awards, among them first place for Best Illustration.

In addition, Catalyst staff writer Corey W. Campbell received an Inner Circle of Excellence award for having been honored in three or more individual categories in the 2008 competition.

The following is complete list of this year’s FCCPA winners: 

First Place: Laura C. Morel and Erik Steinhardt, The Falcon Times, Best News Story
First Place: Erick Torres, Catalyst, Best Sports Column
First Place: Pedro Alvarez, Metropolis, Best Illustration

Second Place: Anahi Cortada, The Falcon Times, Design
Second Place: Elizabeth Melecio, The Falcon Times, Editorial Cartoon
Second Place: Corey W. Campbell, Catalyst, Illustration
Second Place: Corey W. Campbell, Catalyst, Sports photo
Second Place: Gustavo Santa Ana, Metropolis, Sports Writing
Second Place: Ophelia Somers, Metropolis, Humor Writing (Column)
Second Place: Binsen Gonzalez, Metropolis, News Photo

Third Place: Laura C. Morel, The Falcon Times, News Photo
Third Place: Steven Mesa, The Falcon Times, Arts Review
Third Place: Elizabeth Melecio, The Falcon Times, Comic Strip
Third Place, Russell Quinoa, Catalyst, Arts review
Third Place, Corey W. Campbell, Catalyst, News story
Third Place, Corey W. Campbell, Catalyst, News photo
Third Place, Corey W. Campbell, Catalyst, Feature photo
Third Place: Melissa Montoya, Metropolis, General Column
Third Place: Binsen Gonzalez, Metropolis, Ad Design

Honorable Mention: Melissa Cabrera, The Falcon Times, Feature Story

For more information on The Falcon Times or Metropolis, please contact Manolo Barco, adviser, at 305-237-1255 or 305-237-3477. For more information on the Catalyst, please contact Merwin Sigale, adviser, at 305-237-2261.

Media-only contacts:
Juan Mendieta, 305-237-7611,, MDC communications director
Sue Arrowsmith, 305-237-3710,, media specialist
Tarnell Carroll, 305-237-3359,, media specialist

Miami Dade College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award associate and baccalaureate degrees.
Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 or call 404-679-4500 for questions about the accreditation of Miami Dade College.
Miami Dade College is an equal access/equal opportunity institution and does not discriminate on the basis of gender, race, color, marital status, age, religion, national origin,
ethnicity, pregnancy, disability, veteran's status, sexual orientation, or genetic information.
Contact the Office of Director, Equal Opportunity Programs, ADA and Title IX Coordinator, at 305.237.2577 for assistance.