Miami Dade College Homepage > MDC in the News

Six Miami Dade College Professors to Receive Highest Faculty Honor


Miami, July 29, 2009 - Miami Dade College’s (MDC) Endowed Teaching Chairs (ETC) program, the college’s most significant faculty recognition, will honor six professors who have demonstrated a lasting commitment to MDC’s mission at a reception Thursday, October 22, 2009, at 7 p.m. MDC’s ETC is a special program recognized as setting the trend for many colleges across the nation. Before it, similar programs were mainly housed at traditional four year institutions.

The distinguished faculty members were selected by a committee of their peers who reviewed several factors, including effective teaching strategies, professional growth, and making student learning a priority during the selection process.  Each honored professor receives an annual stipend of $7,500 over the course of three years. This year’s group joins nearly 300 endowed chair recipients since 1992.

“Our faculty is the bedrock of Miami Dade College and the finest in the nation. That’s why our honorees are the best of the best,” said Dr. Eduardo J. Padrón, MDC’s president.

The 2009 Endowed Teaching Chairs: 

Alina Coronel, M.S. - South Florida Educational Federal Credit Union Endowed Teaching Chair
Assistant Professor, Mathematics, Kendall Campus
6 years at MDC

Michael Di Liddo, D.M. - The Dr. Ruth Wolkowsky Greenfield Endowed Teaching Chair in Music
Professor, Arts and Philosophy, Wolfson Campus
11 years at MDC

Alex Gancedo, J.D. - The Peter Masiko Jr./Miami Jai Alai Endowed Teaching Chair
Professor, Social Sciences, Hialeah Campus 
18 years at MDC

Eugene “Gene” Greco, Ph.D. - The Spillis Candela & Partners Endowed Teaching Chair
Professor, Music, Kendall Campus
24 years at MDC

Christopher Rogers, Ph.D. - The Bank of America Endowed Teaching Chair
Professor, Business, Kendall Campus
30 years at MDC

Richard Rose, D.M.A. - The Sylvan E. Meyers Endowed Teaching Chair
Professor, Music and Music Business, Kendall Campus
21 years at MDC


For more information on the Endowed Teaching Chair Program, please contact Elizabeth Mitrani Rapps at 305-237-3798, or e-mail

Media-only contacts:
Juan Mendieta, 305-237-7611,, MDC communications director
Sue Arrowsmith, 305-237-3710,, media specialist
Alejandro Rios, 305-237-7482,
Tarnell Carroll, 305-237-3359,, media specialist

Miami Dade College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award associate and baccalaureate degrees.
Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 or call 404-679-4500 for questions about the accreditation of Miami Dade College.
Miami Dade College is an equal access/equal opportunity institution and does not discriminate on the basis of gender, race, color, marital status, age, religion, national origin,
ethnicity, pregnancy, disability, veteran's status, sexual orientation, or genetic information.
Contact the Office of Director, Equal Opportunity Programs, ADA and Title IX Coordinator, at 305.237.2577 for assistance.