Miami Dade College Homepage > MDC in the News

Miami Dade College to Induct Outstanding Alumni to its Hall of Fame


Miami, April 16, 2012 - This spring, Miami Dade College (MDC) will once again honor distinguished alumni who will be inducted into the college’s prestigious Hall of Fame. In addition to personal success, these outstanding alumni have made a significant impact in the community. Past inductees include actor Andy Garcia, music industry mogul Emilio Estefan, Pulitzer prize-winning playwright Nilo Cruz, former Dolphins receiver Nat Moore, Carnival Chairman & CEO Micky Arison and United States Congresswoman Ileana Ros Lehtinen, among other distinguished leaders across America.

MDC’s 10th Annual Alumni Hall of Fame Gala will be held at 6 p.m. Thursday, May 10, at the Hilton Miami Downtown. This year’s 25 honorees represent an array of industries and careers, from architecture, medicine and entrepreneurship to urban development and visual arts.

MDC’s 2012 Alumni Hall of Fame Honorees:



Hector Tundidor, Jr. Miami Managing Partner Ernst & Young LLP



Robert J. Rodriguez CEO NPN Media



Angel C. Saqui, II, AIA, NCARB Partner Angel C. Saqui, FAIA Architects, Planners Interiors, LTD



Hector J. Ponte Community Bank President Dade/Broward Countyline Market Wells Fargo Bank



Mike Tomas President & CEO Bioheart, Inc.



George Torres Vice President, Ticket Sales & Retention Miami Dolphins



Roberto Rodriguez Former Chief Operating Officer and Executive Vice President Denny's Corporation



Dr. Alexis L. Martinez Regional Superintendent Miami-Dade County Public Schools



Jorge R. Duyos, P.E. President JRD & Associates



Juan R. Borges President Biomedical International Corp



Maria R. Del Busto Global Chief Human Resources Officer Royal Caribbean Cruises Ltd.



Gloria Ordaz Weekend News Anchor, Noticias 23 Univision



Antonio Fins Editorial Page Editor Sun Sentinel



Rebecca Ingram Private Attorney Law Offices of Rebecca Ingram



Liz Balmaseda Food & Dining Editor The Palm Beach Post



Jack J. Michel, M.D. President and Chairman of the Board Larkin Community Hospital



Carlos F. Orta President & CEO Hispanic Association on Corporate Responsibility



Marcos De La Rosa Fire Chief City of Hialeah Fire Dept.



Addy M. Villanueva Special Agent in Charge Florida Department of Law Enforcement



Esther Jacobo Regional Managing Director Department of Children and Families (Southern Region) Miami-Dade and Monroe County



   Bruce Fleisher

   Professional Golfer, PGA Champions Tour President

   BLF, Inc.



Oscar R. Compain President Quest International, Inc.



Fernando Santa Cruz President Freight Solutions



Jorge R. Munilla President MCM



Adler Guerrier Visual Artist

For more information about this special event, to become a sponsor, for tickets and any other related matter, please contact Ileana Ramirez-Cueli, 305-237-3240 or Learn more about the MDC Foundation at

Media-only contacts:
Juan Mendieta, 305-237-7611,, MDC communications director
Tere Estorino, 305-237-3949,, MDC media relations director
Sue Arrowsmith, 305-237-3710,, media specialist
Alejandro Rios, 305-237-7482,
Tarnell Carroll, 305-237-3359,, media specialist

Miami Dade College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award associate and baccalaureate degrees.
Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 or call 404-679-4500 for questions about the accreditation of Miami Dade College.
Miami Dade College is an equal access/equal opportunity institution and does not discriminate on the basis of gender, race, color, marital status, age, religion, national origin,
ethnicity, pregnancy, disability, veteran's status, sexual orientation, or genetic information.
Contact the Office of Director, Equal Opportunity Programs, ADA and Title IX Coordinator, at 305.237.2577 for assistance.