Miami Dade College Homepage > MDC in the News

Miami Dade College Selects Eight Honorees for 20th Anniversary of the Endowed Teaching Chairs Program

ETC 2012

(L-R) Professors Maria Mari, Martha Magellan, Adelaida Quesada, Dr. Mayte Insua-Auais, Dr. Sheryl Hartman, Dr. Yamina Alvarez, Dr. Kathy Thomas, and Dr. Lauren Gach.

Miami, August 30, 2012 - Eight Miami Dade College (MDC) professors have been named 2012 Endowed Teaching Chairs, joining the ranks of more than 300 recipients since the program’s trailblazing inception in 1992. This annual, prestigious program honors outstanding faculty who continuously strive to accomplish MDC’s mission. They will be honored at a reception dinner at 7 p.m. Monday, Oct. 22, at the Wolfson Campus’ Chapman Center.   

MDC’s Endowed Teaching Chairs program is generously funded by donors through the ongoing work of the MDC Foundation. It is among the College’s most valued traditions. The honorees are selected by a committee of their peers who looked at evidence of student retention and success, effective teaching strategies, professional growth, and making student learning a top priority. Each will receive an annual stipend of $7,500 for three years.

Meet the 2012 MDC Endowed Teaching Chairs:

Dr. Yamina Alvarez, Joan K. Stout, R.N. Endowed Teaching Chair in Nursing

With 35 years of experience in the field and in the classroom, Associate Professor Senior Alvarez is a nationally recognized scholar and professional in the field of health information technology. At MDC, she is credited with implementing high-fidelity simulation technology.

Dr. Lauren Gach, Jeanne-Marie and Dante Fascell Endowed Teaching Chair

At MDC’s School of Education, Professor Gach has taken an active role in developing curriculum, advancing service learning, and serving on numerous College committees. Gach participates in workshops and seminars nationwide as peer institutions seek her expertise.

Dr. Sheryl Hartman, Freedom Tower Endowed Teaching Chair

For 30 years, Professor Hartman has helped thousands of MDC students excel in their educational pursuits, chosen careers and personal lives through her teaching and counseling. She also helps to sustain the high quality of instruction at MDC as a faculty trainer.

Dr. Mayté Insua-Auais, Espirito Santo Bank Endowed Teaching Chair

Combining years of clinical experience with instructional excellence, Professor Insua-Auais has created numerous opportunities for psychology students at MDC’s North Campus to excel academically while learning the practical skills necessary to grow professionally.

Marta Magellan, Manuel Medina Endowed Teaching Chair

Active in the literary arts on and off campus, Professor Magellan goes above and beyond to advance literacy and expose students to culture. In addition to developing literature classes at MDC, she is advisor to Kendall Campus’ award-winning literary magazine Miambiance.

María Mari, Juan A. Galan, Jr. Endowed Teaching Chair in Entrepreneurship

Accounting Professor Mari is an accomplished educator and leadership mentor for young Hispanic women. She has received numerous awards, including Professor of the Year from the American Accounting Association. This is her third Endowed Teaching Chair.

Adelaida Quesada, Dr. Germán Muñoz Endowed Teaching Chair

With an innate talent and earnest passion for instruction, Associate Professor Quesada has brought mathematics to life for students at MDC for more than 30 years. Her vibrant classes have continually resulted in excellent retention and success rates.

Dr. Kathy Thomas, M. Anthony Burns/Ryder System, Inc. Endowed Teaching Chair

While imparting decades of experience on nursing students at MDC, Professor Thomas has been instrumental in developing curriculum and advancing accreditation endeavors for MDC programs, including the College’s highly successful Bachelor of Science in Nursing program.

For more information on the Endowed Teaching Chair program, please contact Nairobi Abrams at the MDC Foundation at 305-237-3247,  


Media-only contacts:
Juan Mendieta, 305-237-7611,, MDC communications director
Tere Estorino, 305-237-3949,, MDC media relations director
Sue Arrowsmith, 305-237-3710,, media specialist
Alejandro Rios, 305-237-7482,

Miami Dade College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award associate and baccalaureate degrees.
Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 or call 404-679-4500 for questions about the accreditation of Miami Dade College.
Miami Dade College is an equal access/equal opportunity institution and does not discriminate on the basis of gender, race, color, marital status, age, religion, national origin,
ethnicity, pregnancy, disability, veteran's status, sexual orientation, or genetic information.
Contact the Office of Director, Equal Opportunity Programs, ADA and Title IX Coordinator, at 305.237.2577 for assistance.