Kendall Campus

Scenic shot of building 3 of Miami Dade college outside

About the Mathematics Department at MDC Kendall Campus

The mission of the Mathematics Department of Miami Dade College, Kendall Campus, is to support the college in its efforts to provide a high-quality education by keeping the diversity of our learners and their needs at the center of our decision-making with regard to curriculum, instruction, support, and assessment. Specifically, the Kendall Campus Mathematics Department supports a vision that is based upon the vital importance of the first years of collegiate mathematics education-an education that prepares the learner for a future role in society by engaging him or her in instruction that includes fluency, understanding, reasoning, and communication skills needed to comprehend mathematics and its applications. Scientifically and technologically literate, the learner becomes a resourceful problem solver ready to make educated personal and professional decisions, and amply prepared to contribute to the improvement of our global society.

Mathematics Resources

Picture of a student working on a math problem with the focus on his hands and the paper

Math Tutoring Lab

We provide free tutoring for students currently enrolled in a MDC math course. Tutoring services are by appointment and tutors can be reserved up to a week in advance. 

Make an appointment for your tutoring session

Male student receives guidance from a staff member at Student Services

SMART Action Plan

If you are registering for a course for the third or fourth time, you will need to complete a SMART Action Plan and have it approved by the academic department.

Make an appointment with a math advisor

Contact Information

NamePhoneRoomEmail
Antonio Alfonso (305) 237-2449 3245-13 aalfons2@mdc.edu
Leandro Alvarez (305) 237-2736 3212-19 lalvare2@mdc.edu
Maria Alvarez (305) 237-2739 3245-14 malvare1@mdc.edu
Anubis De lama Li (305) 237-2317 3245-03  adelamal@mdc.edu
Luis Beltran, Ph.D. (305) 237-0622 3245-12 lbeltran@mdc.edu
Keysner Boet, Ph.D. (305) 237-0349 3212-06 kboet@mdc.edu
Roberto Cabezas, Ph.D. (305) 237-2517 3232-06 rcabezas@mdc.edu
Justina Castellanos, Ph.D. (305) 237-2475 3212-02 jcastel2@mdc.edu
Laurence Chernoff (305) 237-2213 3212-14 chernof@mdc.edu
Alina Coronel (305) 237-0358 3245-16 acoronel@mdc.edu
Nelson De La Rosa, Ph.D. (305) 237-2453 3245-02 ndelaro1@mdc.edu
Misael Delgado (305) 237-0643 3245-04 mdelgad2@mdc.edu
Lourdes Gonzalez, Ph.D. (305) 237-2359 3212-16 lgonzal2@mdc.edu
Robert Griffiths (305) 237-2238 3245-10 rgriffit@mdc.edu
Eric Hernandez, Ph.D. (305) 237-0336 3212-03 eherna13@mdc.edu
Nancy Liu (305) 237-0334 3212-01 nliu@mdc.edu
Victoria Livinski (305) 237-0628 3212-07 vlivinsk@mdc.edu
Maria Montes De Oca (305) 237-0437 3245-08 mmontesd@mdc.edu
Mathew Page (305) 237-0324 3245-06 mpage@mdc.edu
Juan Prieto-Valdes, Ph.D. (305) 237-2459 3245-01 jprietov@mdc.edu
Adelaida Quesada (305) 237-2628 3245-11 aquesada@mdc.edu
Abdel-Rida Saleh (305) 237-0332 3245-15 asaleh@mdc.edu
Luis Saumell, Ph.D. (305)237-2329 3245-09 lsaumel2@mdc.edu
Gohar Sargsyan (305) 237-2894 3212-04 gsargsya@mdc.edu
David Tseng (305) 237-0562 3212-05 dtseng@mdc.edu
Erica Zjevik (305) 237-0753 3212-08 ezjevik@mdc.edu
NamePositionEmail
Nicholas Schur Department Chair nschur@mdc.edu
Jean Carrillo Assistant to the Chair jcarril1@mdc.edu
Raquel Ortiz Academic Math Lab Manager rortiz1@mdc.edu
Natalie Jimenez Department Secretary njimenez@mdc.edu
NameEmailPhoneRoom
Maria Teresa Alonso malonso5@mdc.edu (305) 237- 2431 3348
Alexis Alum Morales aalummor@mdc.edu (305) 237- 2431 3348
Claudia Alves Dasilva calvesbr@mdc.edu (305) 237- 2431 3348
Dongmei An dan@mdc.edu (305) 237- 2431 3348
Maria Arias-Gonzalez marisgo@mdc.edu (305) 237- 2431 3348
Adele Berger aberger@mdc.edu (305) 237- 2431 3348
Yamilet Cespedes ycespede@mdc.edu (305) 237- 2431 3348
Evans Cobb ecobb@mdc.edu (305) 237- 2431 3348
Andres Cubas acubas@mdc.edu (305) 237- 2431 3348
Alejandro de la Cruz adelacru@mdc.edu (305) 237- 2431 3348
Henry Fernandez hfernan4@mdc.edu (305) 237- 2431 3348
David Ferrare dferrare@mdc.edu (305) 237- 2431 3348
John Fulcher jfulche1@mdc.edu (305) 237- 2431 3348
Lourdes Gutierrez-Barrios lgutier1@mdc.edu (305) 237- 2431 3348
Julie Hardy jhardy@mdc.edu (305) 237- 2431 3348
Eddy Jean-Louis ejeanlou@mdc.edu (305) 237- 2431 3348
Anita Kilmer akilmer@mdc.edu (305) 237- 2431 3348
Isabelle Kumar ikumar@mdc.edu (305) 237- 2431 3348
Hua Li hli@mdc.edu (305) 237- 2431 3348
Qingyun Liu qliu@mdc.edu (305) 237- 2431 3348
Yi-Shien Lo ylo@mdc.edu (305) 237- 2431 3348
Giovanni Lorenzo glorenzo@mdc.edu (305) 237- 2431 3348
Makky Manchola mmancho@mdc.edu (305) 237- 2431 3348
Martha Monteavaro mmonteav@mdc.edu (305) 237- 2431 3348
Rafael Monteavaro rmonteav@mdc.edu (305) 237- 2431 3348
Kora Morales kguerrer@mdc.edu (305) 237- 2431 3348
Francisco Montes de Oca fmontesd@mdc.edu (305) 237- 2431 3348
Gisela Muñiz gmuniz@mdc.edu (305) 237- 2431 3348
Rodrigo Muñoz rmunoz2@mdc.edu (305) 237- 2431 3348
Juan Otero Pereira joterope@mdc.edu (305) 237- 2431 3348
Maria Padin-Arshad mpadinar@mdc.edu (305) 237- 2431 3348
Bernardo Pestano bpestano@mdc.edu (305) 237- 2431 3348
Idania Pestano ipestano@mdc.edu (305) 237- 2431 3348
Augusto Roca aroca1@mdc.edu (305) 237- 2431 3348
Marinella Rozbayani mrozbaya@mdc.edu (305) 237- 2431 3348
Nadir Saad nsaad@mdc.edu (305) 237- 2431 3348
George Samani gsamani@mdc.edu (305) 237- 2431 3348
Ruben Sierra rsierra3@mdc.edu (305) 237- 2431 3348
Roberto Silva rsilva@mdc.edu (305) 237- 2431 3348
Kelly Vargas kvargas@mdc.edu (305) 237- 2431 3348
Josefino Villanueva jvillanu@mdc.edu (305) 237- 2431 3348
Lihua Xue lxue@mdc.edu (305) 237- 2431 3348
Raysuri Zaiter-Ciccone rzaiterc@mdc.edu (305) 237- 2431 3348
Wei Zhao wzhao@mdc.edu (305) 237- 2431 3348