Kendall Campus

Aerial image of Kendall Campus Building G and pool area

About Life Sciences, Health and Wellness at MDC Kendall Campus

Biological Science offices, laboratories, and classrooms are located in Ursina Hall or Building 3. The anatomy and physiology laboratories are well-equipped for the study of human biology.

Biology Resources

student standing in the Math and Science Lab

Math/Science Tutorial Lab

The lab provides tutoring services in all Natural Science courses.

The Audio Visual Media Center

Videotapes and movies are available for student use.

Academic Programs

  • Biology

    Biological scientists study living organisms and their relationship to their environment. Most specialize in some area of biology such as zoology (the study of animals) or microbiology (the study of microscopic organisms).

  • Landscape & Horticulture Technology

    The Landscape & Horticulture Technology Program is the only credit hands-on degree program in ornamental horticulture offered in Miami-Dade County. This program offers two certificates and two Associate in Science Degrees.

Faculty and Staff

NamePositionPhoneRoomEmail
Dr. Alejandro Viera Department Chair 305-237-2136 3265 aviera1@mdc.edu
Lillian Quintero Assistant to Chair 305-237-2445 3265 lquinter@mdc.edu
Jeannette Arce Department Secretary 305-237-2149 3265 jarce1@mdc.edu
Mary Fortner Biology Lab Manager 305-237-2027 3260 mfortner@mdc.edu
Maria Gonzalez Instructional Assistant II 305-237-0950 Landscape Technology Nursery mgonza28@mdc.edu
Maria Sanchez Carrasco Biology Lab -
Instructional Assistant I
305-237-2027 3260 msanch14@mdc.edu
Prof. Babatunde Amole Microbiology, Anatomy &
Physiology
305-237-2494 3265-11 bamole@mdc.edu
Dr. Amarilys Carmona Anatomy & Physiology 305-237-2300 3265-15 acarmona@mdc.edu
Prof. Theresa Chormanski Landscape & Horticulture Technology Director 305-237-2367 3265-02 diles@mdc.edu 
Dr. Avner Ittah Biology 305-237-2539 3265-08 aittah@mdc.edu
Prof. David Moore Zoology, General Biology & Biology and Environment 305-237-2315 3265-10 dmoore@mdc.edu
Dr. Alfonso Pino Anatomy & Physiology 305-237-2592 3265-14 apino@mdc.edu
Prof. Rosa Polanco-Paula, M.S., R.D, L.D.N., C.D. Nutrition 305-237-2304 3265-13 rpolanco@mdc.edu
Dr. Catalina Aristizabal Biology 305-237-2579 3265-03 caristiz@mdc.edu
Dr. Marien Cendon Anatomy & Physiology 305-237-2139 3265-16 mcendon@mdc.edu
Dr. Janet Dowding Biology, Microbiology 305-237-0352 3265-07 jdowding@mdc.edu
Dr. Kendra Merchant Biology, Bachelors 305-237-0956 3265-2 kmerchan@mdc.edu
Prof. Meera Nair Microbiology 305-237-2643 3265-03 mnair@mdc.edu
Dr. Marbelys Pino Biology 305-237-0842 3265-9 mpino1@mdc.edu
Dr. Nidia Romer Nutrition, Anatomy & Physiology 305-237-0807 3265-01 nromer@mdc.edu
Susan Summons Skills and Practice of Basketball, HLP-1080 Health and Fitness 305-237-2378 G-316 ssummons@mdc.edu