September 2014, Volume 18, Number 3

Making Their Mark


MDC Turns Spotlight on Teaching Excellence

As part of one of MDC’s most distinguished and valued traditions, 10 faculty members were recently named as the 2014 Endowed Teaching Chair recipients. The annual program recognizes outstanding professors who continuously strive to accomplish MDC’s mission.

The College’s Endowed Teaching Chairs are generously funded by donors through the ongoing work of the MDC Foundation. The honorees were selected by a committee of their peers, who reviewed evidence of student retention and success, effective teaching strategies, professional growth and making student learning a top priority. To date, more than 300 recipients have been inducted in the program since its inception in 1992.

Samantha L. Carlo, Mitchell Wolfson Jr. Endowed Teaching Chair

By combining the practical with the theoretical, Associate Professor Carlo brings real-world experiences to criminal justice students. Carlo is co-director of ESUBA, an abuse awareness program implemented by the Florida Correctional system, and was the lead faculty developer for the curriculum in MDC’s Associate in Science in Forensic Science, among other accomplishments.

Meghan A. Clovis, Mardee Jenrette Endowed Teaching Chair of Excellence

Mathematics Associate Professor Clovis played a key role in redesigning the collegewide developmental math program. Her accelerated program was nominated for the Chancellor’s Best Practice Award, and she won the 2012 John & Suanne Roueche Excellence Award from the League for Innovation in the Community College.

Francisco Coro Antich, Demie Manieri/Miami Jai-Alai Endowed Teaching Chair

As a senior associate professor, Coro has been instrumental in implementing and leading undergraduate research projects in the Department of Natural and Social Sciences. Coro also has published dozens of scientific papers and three university textbooks, in addition to teaching at colleges in South and Central America and Europe.

Ana Carolina Corrales, Friends of the School of Business Endowed Teaching Chair

For eight years, Corrales served as faculty advisor to Phi Beta Lambda, leading chapters at two campuses and their members to victories at state and national competitions. She is currently senior associate professor for economics and serves on several campus and collegewide committees.

Minca Davis Brantley, Hank Meyer Endowed Teaching Chair

Brantley is an active contributor to and leader of a variety of College programs and community activities. She co-directs the MDC ESUBA program, teaches a variety of psychology courses and is a frequent presenter and trainer for business and government entities.

Jorge Leonardo Obeso, Linda and Hank Raattama Endowed Teaching Chair

Obeso has taught biology at MDC for 16 years, contributing significantly to the design and development of MDC’s Bachelor of Science degree programs. He also serves as an advisor/consultant to several local and statewide boards on cancer education-intervention programs.

Isabel Rodriguez-Dehmer, Blockbuster Entertainment Corporation Endowed Teaching Chair

Rodriguez-Dehmer has advocated for literacy at MDC and in the community.  She now holds two prestigious Endowed Teaching Chair awards at MDC and has been recognized for her work by the Florida Department of Education.

Timothy Schmelzer, American Express Endowed Teaching Chair in Hospitality

With 35 years of experience as a pilot and certified flight instructor, Professor Schmelzer has taught students how to fly, literally and figuratively. He has coached MDC’s Flight Team to numerous victories and received the Federal Aviation Administration’s 2004 Flight Instructor of the Year Award for South Florida.

Sherri F. Sinkoff, John S. and James L. Knight Foundation Endowed Teaching Chair in Communications

Since 2005, Professor Sinkoff has taught the art and skill of effective communication. She was the 2011 Service Learning Partner of the Year and coordinates and facilitates College Training & Development (CT&D) workshops for adjunct faculty

Rebecca M. Smith, Arthur Hertz Endowed Teaching Chair

Senior Associate Professor Rebecca Smith has extensive real-world and academic experience in dental hygiene. Smith received the 2011 FDHA Swann D. Knowles Achievement Award. Since 2006, she has been co-advisor to the student chapter of the American Dental Hygienists’ Society.


More Making Their Mark Articles

Miami Dade College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award associate and baccalaureate degrees.
Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 or call 404-679-4500 for questions about the accreditation of Miami Dade College.
Miami Dade College is an equal access/equal opportunity institution which does not discriminate on the basis of sex, race, color, marital status, age, religion, national origin,
disability, veteran’s status, ethnicity, pregnancy, sexual orientation or genetic information. Additional information may be obtained by contacting the
Office of Equal Opportunity Programs/ADA Coordinator/Title IX Coordinator, at 305.237.2577.