Pick Your Pathway

Photo of three people wearing mask protection stand at a table showing their pride for Miami Dade College by holding signs

Service

  • Academic Service-Learning
Group of faculty members receiving awards stand together at an awards ceremony

Civic Leadership

  • Faculty Facilitators
A closeup photo of a woman wearing a protective mask participating in the voting process

Democratic Engagement

  • Civic Action Scorecard
  • Voter Engagement

Service

Volunteer work that aims to improve the community through organizations such as a nonprofit, government agency, school, grassroots organization, or through iCED-approved projects. Refer to our Standards for Service.

Academic Service-Learning (AS-L)

AS-L is service that is intentionally integrated into your course. Service must be directly related to your class subject matter and meet an identified community need. Intentional, ongoing critical reflection must be incorporated into your course to help connect your students' service with the course objectives and with civic learning.

  1. Review the new Academic Service-Learning Faculty Overview
  2. Contact your campus iCED staff to inform them of your intention to incorporate service
  3. Review iCED's Standards for Service with your students
  4. Review the Academic Service-Learning section of the Student webpage

Upcoming Deadlines for Service-Learning Hour Logs

Term Deadline
First 8 weeks (Aug. 23 – Oct. 8) Friday, Sep. 24 
2nd 8 weeks (Oct. 25 – Dec. 17) Friday, Dec. 10
12 weeks (Sep. 27 – Dec. 17) Friday, Dec. 10
14 weeks (Sep. 13 – Dec .17) Friday, Dec. 10
16 weeks (Aug. 23 – Dec. 17) Friday, Dec. 10

Civic Leadership

The Faculty Facilitator role is iCED's primary Civic Leadership position for MDC faculty. For questions on implementing CLDE programming into your course, reach out to your campus' Facilitator today!

Name Campus Discipline Email
Olga Canedo Ramirez Hialeah Computer Science ocanedor@mdc.edu
Alicia Ibarra Hialeah Computer Science aibarra@mdc.edu
Jairo Ledesma Homestead Social Sciences jledesma@mdc.edu
Olivia Shand Homestead Natural Sciences oshand@mdc.edu
John Frazier Kendall Art and Philosophy jfrazier@mdc.edu
Krystal Ribot Kendall Social Sciences kribot@mdc.edu
Rashida Stewart Medical Nursing rstewar1@mdc.edu
Kristina Vincent Medical Respiratory Care kvincent@mdc.edu
Tina Kuhn North Physical Sciences tkuhn@mdc.edu
Michael Castro North Business mcastro8@mdc.edu
Oscar Gonzalez Padrón English ogonzale@mdc.edu
Sebastián Terneus Padrón English jterneus@mdc.edu
Jessyca Perez West Social Sciences jperez11@mdc.edu
Larry Frolich Wolfson Natural Sciences lfrolich@mdc.edu
Carmen Lopez Wolfson Social Sciences clopez2@mdc.edu

Democratic Engagement

Experiences that prepare students for informed, engaged participation in their communities’ civic and democratic life by providing opportunities to develop civic knowledge, skills, and mindsets.

iCED's Civic Action Scorecard

Take Action. Score Points. Earn Awards.

The Civic Action Scorecard is an open educational resource (OER) for course instructors wanting to incorporate civic action, optionally including but not limited to service and voter engagement, into their courses. While Miami Dade College continues to produce civically empowered leaders, there are still gaps in the likelihood of MDC’s unique student body accessing and finding efficacy in their vital role as participants in civic life. Miami Dade College, “Democracy’s College”, is comprised of a student population of primarily non-White, low-income, and immigrant students (Miami Dade College, 2019). These factors increase the likelihood of experiencing implications of the civic empowerment gap, defined as a barrier to gaining knowledge, skills, and confidence to be an active and influential participant in civic and political life, generally linked to an individual’s ethnoracial, citizenship, and economic classifications (Levinson, 2012, p. 31-32). Without closing the civic empowerment gap through active participation, our communities risk losing out on representation of MDC’s diverse and complex student body in the creation and upholding of Miami’s civic and democratic structures and values. We present the Civic Action Scorecard as an equitable, accessible, and diverse guide towards civic empowerment for all.

If you are incorporating the Scorecard into your courses as a required or extra credit assignment:

  1. Review the Civic Action Scorecard and its 75+ Civic Actions.
  2. Review the Faculty Guide.
    1. Tips for incorporating the Civic Action Scorecard are on page 11.
  3. Direct your students to the Student page to review their materials:
    1. Explore the Student Guide with your students.
    2. Review How to Build Your Civic Action Portfolio with documentation and reflection.
    3. Encourage students to continue building their portfolio to earn the Civic Action Award.
  1. Send your rosters to your campus iCED staff for any courses where the Scorecard is a required or extra credit assignment. This 1-minute video shows how easy it is. No need to manipulate the file in any way, just download and email it. Note: iCED no longer requires data on specific actions assigned or specific points scored by each student. Only provide the following information along with your rosters:
    1. In which courses are you incorporating the Scorecard?
    2. How many points or actions are you assigning?
    3. Is the Scorecard assignment required or extra credit?
  1. Review the video Scoring a Civic Action Portfolio.
  2. Did you know? MDC faculty and staff can build a Civic Action Portfolio and earn the Civic Action Award, too!

Voter Engagement

Visit MDC’s one-stop election readiness site: register to vote, sign-up for vote-by-mail, check voter registration status, update voter registration address, learn about important deadlines and more!