Eight Dimensions of Wellness

Wellness is about life and living and becoming the healthiest “you” possible. Eight Dimensions of Wellness have been described by the national Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA).

Learning about the Eight Dimensions of Wellness can help to make wellness a part of everyday life.

Wellness strategies are practical ways to develop healthy habits that can have a positive impact on physical and mental health.

Graphical Representation of the Eight Dimensions of Wellness
  1. Emotional
    Coping effectively with life and creating satisfying relationships
  2. Environmental
    Good health by occupying pleasant, stimulating environments that support well-being
  3. Financial
    Satisfaction with current and future financial situations
  4. Intellectual
    Recognizing creative abilities and finding ways to expand knowledge and skills
  5. Occupational
    Personal satisfaction and enrichment from one’s work
  6. Physical
    Recognizing the need for physical activity, healthy foods, and sleep
  7. Social
    Developing a sense of connection, belonging, and a well-developed support system
  8. Spiritual
    Expanding a sense of purpose and meaning in life