Miami Dade College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award associate and baccalaureate degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 or call 404-679-4500 for questions about the accreditation of Miami Dade College.
Successful completion of the MDC level two background check process or completion of a MDC nursing/health sciences program does not guarantee a graduate’s eligibility for participation in the professional credentialing process or for related employment. Credentialing agencies and health care employers may have additional eligibility criteria not required by an educational institution. Individuals who have been arrested or convicted for any crime are strongly urged to inquire directly of the licensing board in the jurisdiction in which they intend to practice.
Upon completion of the Pharmacy Technician program, graduates are eligible to apply to the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board for permission to participate in the examination process. The credentialing process associated with this profession is required.
2021 Licensure Pass rate: 37%
For further information, contact:
Pharmacy Technician Certification Board
2215 Constitution Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20037-2985
Steps to Becoming a Licensed Technician
- Complete a board approved Pharmacy Technician program—MDC coursework and clinical (including HSC0003 and successful T.A.B.E.)
- Schedule, take, and pass the PTCE (Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam). It is recommended that you take your exam and become nationally certified between your in-class coursework and clinical experience (after your first semester at MDC). You can find out about the exam and register to take it at the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board's website.
- Upon successful completion of the MDC Pharmacy Technician Program, immediately register with the state. In Florida, Pharmacy Technicians are required to be registered before they can practice, this is VERY important. No exam is required for registration, you will need either final transcripts or your certificate to prove successful graduation from the program. The Florida State Application can be found and printed in through the Florida Department of Health website.
- Once you are certified and registered, you must complete 20 hours of CE (Continuing Education) every two years to keep both certification and registration. National certification requirements state that one of the 20 hours must be in Pharmacy Law. The State of Florida requires; in addition, that 2 of the 20 hours be in "Prescription Errors", 1 of the 20 hours be in "HIV/AIDS training", and 4 of the 20 hours must be "live" or "in-service" training.
- Attaining CE: some good resources are to register with CE brokers, like www.powerpak.com and www.pharmacytimes.com (there are many out there, try searching for "Pharmacy Technician CE" in Google). Both above sites provide scheduled "webinars" that do count as live CE for Florida requirements. It is also a good idea to become a member or guest with the Miami-Dade Board of Pharmacy or Broward Pharmacy Board. They often provide live CE at monthly meetings. ALWAYS print your hardcopy of CE course completion, as both the PTCB and/or the State of Florida can audit you at anytime, keep these on file for a minimum of five years.
Register with the Board of Pharmacy
Any person who wishes to work as a pharmacy technician in the State of Florida must register with the Board of Pharmacy. To register with the Board of Pharmacy, an applicant must submit the following items:
- Pharmacy Technician Registration Application
- Non-refundable application fee, registration fee, and unlicensed application fee
- Proof of completion of a board-approved pharmacy technician-training program (submit official transcripts).